News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Latest finds

Started by McHeath, September 04, 2008, 09:45:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

McHeath

Finding old phones is more difficult than one would have expected here in my corner of the world.  I'm guessing that most of them simply get thrown away, so the landfill would be good pickings, but yucky.  Nearby is a uber cheap thrift store that has 50% off Sundays, and they have a decent size old phone section.  Mostly cheap junk made in the last 15 years in China, but last weekend I scored a 1980 trimline in great shape for $2.50 and a 1978 made Design Line character phone, the Snoopy and Woodstock model, and it was rotary to boot!  Price for this little gem was $7.50, plus tax.  It's in great condition, works of course, and after a good cleaning looks almost new.  Took it to work, I'm a teacher, and sat it up and the kids were all over it, trying to figure out how to dial it.  They kept sticking their fingers in the holes on the fingerwheel, expecting buttons to push, no one knew how to dial it.  Which of course they now think is the coolest thing ever, but I'm not sure any of them are going to turn in their slide cell phones however and give up texting for pulse dialing. 

Mark Stevens