Author Topic: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank  (Read 1200 times)

Offline HarrySmith

  • ***
  • Posts: 5885
  • 1937 302
211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« on: September 19, 2011, 08:42:11 PM »
Last week a member on the ATCA list offered an early 211 with a dial mount and a dial blank. Very strange setup and seemed unique to me. Apparently he got a lot of replies within minutes but mine was first so I bought it. It arrived this weekend with the dial blank broken! I contacted the seller who has offered to take it back and refund my money but I really do not want to return it! Does anyone have anything like this? Have any of you seen this before? It is new to me! Any ideas for a replacement?
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Offline rdelius

  • **
  • Posts: 2166
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 08:45:52 PM »
I think the dial blank is a Kellogg or a Conn, not positive
Robby

Offline LarryInMichigan

  • ***
  • Posts: 5008
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 08:52:21 PM »
It sure doesn't look like a WE blank to me.  Since the dial housing was optional on these anyway, I cannot imagine that WE would have shipped 211s with dial housings with dial blanks.  That would seem like a waste of parts.

Larry

Offline GG

  • **
  • Posts: 1170
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2011, 03:30:20 AM »



PhoneCo has many kinds of 3" dial blanks at reasonable prices.  You could ship them that one and see if they could match it.  Or just order a bunch and see what works.


Offline Wallphone

  • **
  • Posts: 688
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2011, 06:05:28 AM »
Harry, I have one very similar to yours and it has a Kellogg number card on it. Mine has straight sides and it is .425" thick. Phoneco has one at the bottom left of this page, < http://tinyurl.com/6kc6bkg > DBKEL.
Good thought Larry, why would you get the dial option and put a blank on it?
Doug Pav

Offline HarrySmith

  • ***
  • Posts: 5885
  • 1937 302
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2011, 09:25:45 AM »
Yes, it is strange there is a dial mount and a dial blank. That is what attracted me to it. I have to get it apart to see exactly what it is. Will post more pictures when I get it apart.
Thanks guys!
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Offline LarryInMichigan

  • ***
  • Posts: 5008
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2011, 09:37:16 AM »
If I were going to guess, I would say that the phone originally had a #2 or #4 dial, and someone happily traded a dial blank for it, but I won't.

Larry

Offline Wallphone

  • **
  • Posts: 688
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2011, 11:54:31 AM »
If I were going to guess, I would say that the phone originally had a #2 or #4 dial, and someone happily traded a dial blank for it, but I won't.

Larry
I was thinking along the same lines that it is some sort of home brew, but I would kinda think that there would still be wires running to the dial shroud but I don't see any. I guess we could speculate all day on the history of it, but it won't do any good.
Doug Pav

Offline HarrySmith

  • ***
  • Posts: 5885
  • 1937 302
Re: 211 Spacesaver Dial Blank
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2011, 08:18:46 PM »
Today after much "gentle prodding" from my wife I finally got around to going through all the phone stuff I have been throwing in a corner of the office. While I was seperating stuff and arranging it into some semblance of order I came across a box of number rings and dial blanks, one of the dial blanks is a match to the broken piece!  Now I can put my funny 211 back together! Pictures to follow.
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"