Author Topic: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally  (Read 1559 times)

Offline acolabrese

  • *
  • Posts: 27
WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« on: January 26, 2014, 11:52:59 AM »
I am trying to restore a 1939 WE 302. My issue is, I'm not hearing a dial tone. I rewired the phone using a diagram I downloaded and used before on other phones. This one is really giving me a headache. When someone calls in, the phone rings normally. When I pick up the handset, the phone keeps ringing. I cleaned the contacts where ever I could. The dial moves freely too. It's has a date stamp of 4/37. I took the handset elements out of the phone and put them into another model that works, and they are fine. So I think the problem lies between the hook switch and the induction coil.

Any suggestions?

Offline TelePlay

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7327
  • Character is Fate
    • . . . the times they been a'changing
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 12:04:29 PM »
Can you take good, in focus close up photos of the dial wiring and the base wiring and post them here?
            John . . .

              

Offline acolabrese

  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 12:18:32 PM »
Here are the images.

Offline Contempra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2014, 12:36:01 PM »
I don't know if you the 302 with 2 or 4 wires so here is the two shematics

4 wires


2 wires
Denis

Offline Phonesrfun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4867
  • "Number Please"
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2014, 12:39:57 PM »
Step 1.  Make sure there is a transmitter in the handset and that the contact springs are making contact with the base of the transmitter.

Step 2 is to check the handset cord wires inside the handset.

Can you more fully describe what you did to clean the hookswitch contacts?  Did you do any other disassembly?
-Bill G

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6113
  • 1051-AL
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2014, 02:00:46 PM »
Too many wires on L1 and not enough on L2Y. Since it rings OK, it must be the yellow hookswitch wire that needs to move from L1 to L2Y.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Offline acolabrese

  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2014, 02:44:29 PM »
I swapped out the handset transmitters. Inserted two from another 302 which I restored. They worked 2 minutes before I inserted them. So It can't be them. The wires are correctly wired inside the handset. Nickel was polished. They are exactly matching the 302, which works a.. okay. Also a two wire ringer. The wires match on the phones.

Offline acolabrese

  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2014, 02:45:27 PM »
Tried moving yellow hook switch wire, nothing...

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6113
  • 1051-AL
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2014, 02:47:10 PM »
I swapped out the handset transmitters. Inserted two from another 302 which I restored. They worked 2 minutes before I inserted them. So It can't be them. The wires are correctly wired inside the handset. Nickel was polished. They are exactly matching the 302, which works a.. okay. Also a two wire ringer. The wires match on the phones.

In your photo, there are 4 wires on L1 and 2 wires on L2Y, instead of 3 and 3. Both yellow wires should be on L2Y; one is on L1 in the photo. Are you saying that it still doesn't work after moving the yellow hooskswitch wire to L2Y?
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Offline tallguy58

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
Cheers........Bill

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6113
  • 1051-AL
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2014, 02:53:15 PM »
I don't know if you the 302 with 2 or 4 wires so here is the two shematics

The diagram for a "302/4-wire ringer" won't help since it is actually a 304 that has been rewired for single line. The induction coil, ringer, hookswitch, and terminal block are all different.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Offline acolabrese

  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2014, 02:55:11 PM »
Here are some updated phones. After rewiring again.

The shiny bells are the problem phone, the dull ones are my functioning 302. Dated 1941.

No Soap Doc.

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6113
  • 1051-AL
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2014, 02:59:13 PM »
There are many ways to troubleshoot a 302 once you have all the wires in the right place. The way I do it is to bypass the dial and hookswitch to start: move the white handset wire to GN on the induction coil and black handset wire to L2Y.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Offline tallguy58

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2014, 02:59:48 PM »
What I do is rip everything out and start over step by step following those pictures from the PDF file.

I've never gone wrong yet.

The wire on Y on the dial looks like it has a bare conductor (missing insulation) in the middle of it.
Cheers........Bill

Offline acolabrese

  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: WE 302 (1939) No DIAL tone. However rings normally
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2014, 03:01:19 PM »
It does have a bare spot. I made sure to not ground it, until I can seal it with liquid electric tape.