Author Topic: Coin line controller  (Read 4956 times)

Offline DavePEI

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4002
  • Telephone Museum of Prince Edward Island
    • The Telephone Museum of Prince Edward Island
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #30 on: May 26, 2017, 12:50:12 AM »
Maybe Jim will see this and reply.

What EPROM and CPU/MCU are in it?

I would have told you, but I can't. I have not opened up the unit yet and don't intend to (at least not yet) I do not want to take any chance of damaging it. I have been hoping to find a rate table for any area at all to see if I can customize it and do it the correct way.

Dave
The Telephone Museum of Prince Edward Island:
http://www.islandregister.com/phones/museum.html
Free Admission - Call (902) 651-2762 to arrange a visit!
C*NET 1-651-0001

Alex G. Bell

  • Guest
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #31 on: May 26, 2017, 12:53:56 AM »
I would have told you, but I can't. I have not opened up the unit yet and don't intend to (at least not yet) I do not want to take any chance of damaging it. I have been hoping to find a rate table for any area at all to see if I can customize it and do it the correct way.

Dave
Got it.  If you had said that I would not have asked a second time.

Offline Stubbypylon

  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #32 on: May 26, 2017, 07:55:19 AM »
Thank you Dave for the installation guide!
Craig Stanowski

Offline Stubbypylon

  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #33 on: May 26, 2017, 09:29:14 AM »
Dave/Jim,

I pulled out my Omnipro which has been boxed and shelved for many years.  Regarding the software and rate tables, I have three discs:

1) a CD PhoneTracker version 1.07
2) a CD Documentation and Utilities version 1.04 (which does not seem to contain any files for CoinPro but instead other Omnitronix devices)
3) a floppy disc Miscellaneous Files for PhoneTracker

I can't view #1 & #3.  Do you think they might have the rate tables?
Craig Stanowski

Offline Payphone installer

  • ****
  • Posts: 466
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #34 on: May 26, 2017, 12:33:31 PM »
I have not looked at Omniphone controller software for years but if it is like a lot of others in regards to rate files, if the  frame work exist in the program you just have to populate the area codes and exchanges.
 As to the question of smart payphone programs or controllers they will not operate without a rate file. To make this simple a program has to know who it is and who it is calling to work. The rate file is part on the brain. You have to have your whole brain to function.
Some programs do have default setting in the phone that will run but are fixed. Others will do nothing. The Omniphone needs the rate file to run. so all that said I am pursuing getting a PC set up to make this happen. I called a old friend that may still have a PC that has Omniphone software running on it. I also know of a company still using the stuff. So as I get time I will start to move this ball forward. If I can make this happen I would have maybe 40 of these available. They would have to be downloaded before they were sent to the end user. They would operate a 1C or 1D W/E set as if being run buy the central office. They are really cool. In order for a Coinpro to work you must have the license code. Thanks Jim

Alex G. Bell

  • Guest
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #35 on: May 26, 2017, 02:29:40 PM »
Thanks Jim.  I'd love to see high res. photos of both sides of all boards when you can take the time if you have one you don't mind opening.

Offline mentalstampede

  • no deposit, no return
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #36 on: May 26, 2017, 03:13:36 PM »
Didn't you have some of the software running at one time, Dave? I seem to recall seeing some screenshots. Is that not able to build a rate file?
My name is Kenn, and I like telephones.

“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.” --Robert Heinlein

Offline Sigmaz

  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • -Jon
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #37 on: January 10, 2018, 11:35:13 AM »
They are really cool. In order for a Coinpro to work you must have the license code.
Does the software require the associated / keyed CD to be in the drive during runtime?

Meaning, when does the license check occur?

Does the software just run happily after the install is complete? or does it require the CD or a dongle to cross check its security each time it's started?



Offline Payphone installer

  • ****
  • Posts: 466
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #38 on: January 11, 2018, 10:01:41 PM »
I believe it runs happy when complete,it is similar to expressnet the disks load the PC then you connect a cable to the controller and download it. You insert the key in the software in the site record as I recall. I will try and fire up the PC that has the program on it this weekend if time permits and also I may be the disks also. The rate file is what I need to fine I think. If it s still on the PC I think it is on it will have a rate file. I guess I could image the PC?

Offline Sigmaz

  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • -Jon
Re: Coin line controller
« Reply #39 on: January 12, 2018, 05:11:35 PM »
I believe it runs happy when complete,it is similar to expressnet the disks load the PC then you connect a cable to the controller and download it. You insert the key in the software in the site record as I recall. I will try and fire up the PC that has the program on it this weekend if time permits and also I may be the disks also. The rate file is what I need to fine I think. If it s still on the PC I think it is on it will have a rate file. I guess I could image the PC?

Yep sure can.
We can go over the details on how with one of the tools I have already sent you.