Author Topic: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?  (Read 1015 times)

Online Pourme

  • One Ringy Dingy, Two Ringy Dingys...
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1641
  • Benny's Fatboy
Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« on: August 12, 2016, 08:07:07 PM »
I started out with a 308 then switched to a 616. The 308 was stored away. Now the 616 extensions are almost full. I mounted the 308 beside the 616 intending to make use of it as well. Now I wonder..is there any way to use the 308 to expand the 616? Can they be wired together in some fashion? I do have a program phone.
Benny

The Internet is a telephone system that's gotten uppity

Offline Jack Ryan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 813
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2016, 08:33:16 PM »
No problem - just install a Panel Tandem!

Helpfully,
Jack

Online Pourme

  • One Ringy Dingy, Two Ringy Dingys...
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1641
  • Benny's Fatboy
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2016, 09:03:59 PM »
When I searched panel tandem on the forum, all,I got was this thread...more info?
No problem - just install a Panel Tandem!

Helpfully,
Jack

Benny

The Internet is a telephone system that's gotten uppity

Offline Jack Ryan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 813
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2016, 09:18:25 PM »
Sorry, I wasn't being helpful at all.

Panel exchange: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panel_switch

Search for tandem on that page.

Although that will solve your problem you would need to find a Panel exchange to use as a tandem and a place to put it. Personally I would love to do that but practicalities prevent it.

To your original question - I don't think there is any way to expand a 616 with a 308 except by connecting the 308 to an extension of the 616. I assume you don't actually have 6 or more exchange lines. With the 308 connected to an extension of the 616 you could dial from a 308 extension to a 616 extension (308 outside line then dial 616 extension) but the reverse is more difficult and more limited.

Regards
Jack

Online Jim S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3266
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2016, 09:22:10 PM »
You can connect an extension from 1 to a CO jack on the other. 
example: extension 8 from the 308 goes into CO 1 on the 616. When you call extension 8 on the 308 it rings the 616 as an incoming call. You can do the same from the 616 back to the 308.
With programming you can set it to ring all or you can key in the extension.

Jim S.


 I have used a BK 1045 as a CO line on a 616. My purpose was to send a ring signal to ring all the phones I hooked up.
on these units you can connect an extension back into the same unit as a CO line to ring the rest of the phones.
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5772
  • 102C-6 = "Old Brass" Hand Telephone Set
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2016, 12:44:38 AM »
Just make sure you go from an extension port on one system to a line port on the other. Don't connect an extension port in one to an extension port in the other. (Otherwise, you risk sending ringing voltage from one system into an extension port, which is an output not looking for incoming voltage.)

 An example would be running a regular 2-conductor line cord from extension 18 (last extension port) on the 308 to CO Port 6 (last line port) on the 616. To call into the 308 from the 616, you would dial 86 from any phone in the 616 system, ext. 25 for example. This would give you a second dial tone (actually ext. 18 from the 308) after you dial 86 from ext. 25 (616 phone). You would then dial the extension (11 - 17) of the extension you want to call on the 308.

If you are calling from one of the extensions (11-17) on the 308, then dialing 18 will ring in on the 616 just like any other outside call -- that is, it will ring all 16 extensions by default. However, you could also duplicate the above method if you want to call individual phones in the 616 from an extension in the 308. (Just take say Ext. 26 on the 616 and run a line cord to the 3rd line port in the 308. Then you would dial 83 from any phone on the 308 to access the 616 dial tone (actually ext. 26 dial tone from the 616), and then you can call any station in the 616 by dialing its 2-digit number.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Online Pourme

  • One Ringy Dingy, Two Ringy Dingys...
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1641
  • Benny's Fatboy
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2016, 09:17:26 AM »
After reading Jim and Pop's response a couple of times, without my wife in the other ear telling me about something entirely different.....I understand the logic!....Thanks guys, this is exactally the information Imwas searching for...and I did search for any previous discussion on this matter, to no avail....

benny
Benny

The Internet is a telephone system that's gotten uppity

Offline oldguy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2016, 12:08:14 PM »
nice recap, thanks. I have seen this info before but finding it can be difficult because the 308/616 threads go off on so many rabbit trails it impossible to keep track of what information is on what thread. 
Gary

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5772
  • 102C-6 = "Old Brass" Hand Telephone Set
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2016, 12:17:20 PM »
Trunks connecting two PBXs were called "tie lines." They were often accessed by dialing an access code from stations that had the class of service that allowed them to use these lines. "9" was usually the access code for a local outgoing trunk (or two-way trunk), "0" for the attendant, so some other code that didn't conflict with the other extension numbers would be assigned.

Years ago, many employees of Otasco were transferred from Tulsa, Oklahoma to Atlanta, GA. The Atlanta PBX had tie lines so that employees here could call directly into the various departments of the head office in OK. It was cheaper to lease the dedicated pairs between the cities than to pay for long distance calls. At least one employee discovered that after dialing the access code for the tie line to Tulsa, and obtaining dial tone from the distant PBX, he could then dial "9" and be connected to an outgoing trunk on the Tulsa PBX. Once connected to that trunk, he could dial any of his friends and relatives in Tulsa, without any additional long distance charges. It didn't take long for word to get around to the other employees.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Online Pourme

  • One Ringy Dingy, Two Ringy Dingys...
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1641
  • Benny's Fatboy
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2016, 12:26:26 PM »
That's funny Popular1.... We willnalways find the angle that benefits us!... Some things never change!
Benny

The Internet is a telephone system that's gotten uppity

Online Pourme

  • One Ringy Dingy, Two Ringy Dingys...
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1641
  • Benny's Fatboy
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2016, 12:28:32 PM »
nice recap, thanks. I have seen this info before but finding it can be difficult because the 308/616 threads go off on so many rabbit trails it impossible to keep track of what information is on what thread.

You have both units as well... Do you have plans to wire up both units?
Benny

The Internet is a telephone system that's gotten uppity

Offline oldguy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Wiring a 308, 616 as one unit?
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2016, 12:16:53 AM »
My 616 is connected to 16 phones in my phone display(port 11 doesn't have power on the outer contacts, so the progamming phone doesn't work on the 616). I was planning on connecting the 308 to the POTS line & throuout the house as an intercom too. It sounds like I may do both these things & connecting both units together too. Does this sounds wright?
Gary