Author Topic: Dial tone all the time on my AE Payphone  (Read 246 times)

Offline Iggy348

  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Not enough time to fish
Dial tone all the time on my AE Payphone
« on: September 26, 2017, 08:31:31 PM »
I have an automatic electric pay phone.  I got it wired up today and I have a dial tone.  The dial tone continues while I dial and even after I dial.  I assume there is something wrong with this phone, but I have no idea what causes that.  Does anyone have any experience with something like that?

Iggy
Wood working really yanks my chain.

Offline AL_as_needed

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 585
  • WE '63 500L/M, From Narco Avionics
Re: Dial tone all the time on my AE Payphone
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 09:03:41 PM »
I am not a payphone expert by any stretch, but can you post a picture of the network wiring? When I have encountered this issue on my desk/wall sets, it was usually because I put connections where they did not belong.
TWinbrook7

Offline compubit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 524
Re: Dial tone all the time on my AE Payphone
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2017, 09:35:21 PM »
2 Questions to get you started...

- Tone or pulse dial?
- Does another of the same kind work on the same line?

Just trying to help troubleshoot - it's the engineer in me...

J
A phone phanatic since I was less than 2 (thanks to Fisher Price); collector since a teenager; now able to afford to play!
Favorite Phone: Western Electric Trimline - it just feels right holding it up to my face!

Offline Haf

  • ***
  • Posts: 247
Re: Dial tone all the time on my AE Payphone
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2017, 10:04:36 PM »
if your phone is out of service condition and you have the coin track with the original 10 cent relay, insert two nickels and see if it works.
AE prepay had always DTF but the dial was blocked unless you deposited the initial amount.

Haf
« Last Edit: September 26, 2017, 10:07:46 PM by Haf »

Offline mentalstampede

  • no deposit, no return
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
Re: Dial tone all the time on my AE Payphone
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2017, 06:58:40 PM »
This may be a dumb question, but do other rotary phones work on your line? Many modern telephone providers do not have pulse service anymore.
My name is Kenn, and I like telephones.

“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.” --Robert Heinlein

Offline Number, please!

  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Dial tone all the time on my AE Payphone
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2017, 11:48:09 PM »
2 Questions to get you started...

- Tone or pulse dial?
- Does another of the same kind work on the same line?

Just trying to help troubleshoot - it's the engineer in me...

J

This may be a dumb question, but do other rotary phones work on your line? Many modern telephone providers do not have pulse service anymore.
   

To put it another way, it could be

1) The dial needs service/adjustment.  If another dial phone works on your line, it's probably the dial.  Do you hear the pulses or clicks when using the dial? 

2) Your phone service may not be Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS.)  For example, Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) may not recognize the pulse(s) that the dial produces, it only recognizes touch tones (tt.)  Do you hear the pulses or clicks when using the dial?

3) The coin drop relay and/or pay system may be preventing proper operation.  I don't think this one is likely, though.

Good luck!
Stu