Author Topic: Does anyone know if this would work?  (Read 495 times)

Offline CDK

  • Collector of Antiques and Valuables
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Does anyone know if this would work?
« on: November 11, 2017, 11:32:04 PM »
So this was a while back probably some months ago don't know when, So I happen to come across a very large Western Electric mechanical bells, I think they were for a fire station, but do you think that if I bought it would it work with a telephone network hooked up to a phone and use it for a very loud ringer?

Offline AE_Collector

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7527
  • AE 2 - AECo's 1st Self Contained Desk Phone 1925
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2017, 11:47:08 PM »
There were loud extension bell sets that directly worked on the phone line and there were others that needed an additional power source as well as the phone line connection.

Pictures would be good!

Terry

Offline stub

  • **
  • Posts: 1600
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2017, 12:55:51 AM »
CDK,
        My AE ringer with two 6" bells works great on POTS and on ATT wireless.  stub
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline Brinybay

  • **
  • Posts: 4428
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2017, 01:36:20 AM »
You guys must have very spacious houses.  My wife wouldn't tolerate one of those, and I have a couple of them.  But I'm still interested in learning how to rig them.
The idea that a four-year degree is the only path to worthwhile knowledge is insane.
 - Mike Row
e

Offline dsk

  • **
  • Posts: 3945
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2017, 03:51:11 AM »
When you open up the ringer with the huge bells, you could look for some signs, does it have a capacitor? does the ringer motor have 2 coils? Each coil has often stamped an ohmic value, this should probably have a total of 600 to 3000 ohms. 
If no capacitor, it may still be OK, it just has to be put in some place, if it has only one coil, but it has an ohmic value on that range it is OK.

You may test it if you have a magneto telephone, just connect and crank, if it rings, it should be possible to use it.

dsk

Offline stub

  • **
  • Posts: 1600
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2017, 09:17:52 AM »
Greg,
         Here's mine-     stub
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline Ktownphoneco

  • **
  • Posts: 1052
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2017, 10:52:18 AM »
Here's 2 pages from N.E. T-8 Telephone Catalog showing the ringer Brinybay posted of a Western type 592 extension ringer.   According to the description, the 592A has a condenser/capacitor, a bias spring. and the 592B doesn't have either a condenser/capacitor or a bias spring.     I'm assuming the Western version of this ringer, would be pretty much the same.   Click twice on the pictures to enlarge.

Jeff Lamb

Offline TelePlay

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7298
    • . . . times keep changin'
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2017, 11:24:37 AM »
WE 592A

Offline mazda_matt

  • Oldphoneworks
  • *
  • Posts: 159
  • Oldphoneworks
    • Oldphoneworks
Re: Does anyone know if this would work?
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2017, 11:22:48 AM »
I have a brand new in box NOS one on eBay right now: https://www.ebay.com/itm/122807232144

-MM
« Last Edit: November 13, 2017, 11:47:03 AM by TelePlay »
oldphoneworks.com
1-800-843-1320

Coupon Code - CRF10 (10% off)