Author Topic: Western Electric 43A and L1a wiring...  (Read 284 times)

Offline Vacuumlad1650

  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • One Ringy-Dingy...Two Ringys--A gracious hello...
Western Electric 43A and L1a wiring...
« on: January 18, 2018, 07:08:04 PM »
Hello All!

I purchased a WE L1a external ringer on eBay, and it arrived today. As usual, I wired up the line in (Red and Green) on terminals 5 and 6. It doesn't seem to want to ring. does anyone have a wiring diagram so i can check it?

I Also purchased a WE 43a Space Saver. While replacing the Handset and Line cords, I ran into an issue...it wont dial out, and the transmitter (ear-side) seems incredibly loud. Looking for a wiring diagram as well.

Pictures are on the way!

Thanks,
AR
Andy R...

Vacuumlad1650@gmail.com

My grandfather spent 40+ years at Illinois Bell. Thanks to him, I'm a nut for real telephones! Another breed of Phone Phreak...

Offline rdelius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1891
Re: Western Electric 43A and L1a wiring...
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2018, 07:52:39 PM »
That set must be wired to a subset to work properly ,That ext ringer -does it have a network?
Do a 211 search to find diagrams

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
  • 102C-6 = "Old Brass" Hand Telephone Set
Re: Western Electric 43A and L1a wiring...
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2018, 08:15:49 PM »
L1A ringer:  green to 3, red to 4 (BSP 501-258-101)

F1A ringer (Bell Chime): green to 4, red to 6  (501-252-100)

E1A ringer (for Princess 701B, 2-line sets, etc.): green to 6, red to 5 (501-251-100)
« Last Edit: January 18, 2018, 08:28:06 PM by poplar1 »
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Offline Vacuumlad1650

  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • One Ringy-Dingy...Two Ringys--A gracious hello...
Re: Western Electric 43A and L1a wiring...
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2018, 10:05:00 PM »
That set must be wired to a subset to work properly ,That ext ringer -does it have a network?
Do a 211 search to find diagrams

I would assume the Space Saver will not work without some sort of subset? Is there a way to use an External E1a ringer as a subset? I dont need it to have a ringer.
Andy R...

Vacuumlad1650@gmail.com

My grandfather spent 40+ years at Illinois Bell. Thanks to him, I'm a nut for real telephones! Another breed of Phone Phreak...

Offline rdelius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1891
Re: Western Electric 43A and L1a wiring...
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2018, 10:33:24 PM »
L1a is just an extenstion ringer. If you have an old 500 set you could build your own. You could series wire the set  but it will  not work as well

Offline Vacuumlad1650

  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • One Ringy-Dingy...Two Ringys--A gracious hello...
Re: Western Electric 43A and L1a wiring...
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2018, 10:48:10 PM »
L1a is just an extenstion ringer. If you have an old 500 set you could build your own. You could series wire the set  but it will  not work as well

I do not have any extra sets at the moment...although I should be able to get one easily. How would I want to set it up?
Andy R...

Vacuumlad1650@gmail.com

My grandfather spent 40+ years at Illinois Bell. Thanks to him, I'm a nut for real telephones! Another breed of Phone Phreak...