Author Topic: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only  (Read 1261 times)

Offline Dave

  • *
  • Posts: 54
308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« on: March 01, 2018, 07:37:43 PM »
Hi all

I have been looking for a way to get past the two rotary dial phones with a battery and a resistor intercom for a couple of weeks. I have all these lovely Western Electric phones, and while I do still use a landline with a 500 here and a Princess there, I want to be able to use more of them as a in-home intercom system.

I started by looking at Viking line simulators, but after reading awhile found out they probably won't ring my old electro-mechanical phone ringers. Scratch Viking.

Then I read about a Teltone TLS-4. That seemed like a likely candidate. Then I came here and read about 308s and 616s. Hmmm!

It seems too good to be true. A box that will allow me to continue to use my landline plus let me play intercom king. Here's what I think I know. Would someone please tell me where I'm wrong in any of these 7 statements.

1. A 308/616 will let me continue to use my old phones on my existing landline as normal.
2. A 308/616 will let me hook up other of my old phones to use as a 8 / 16 extension in-house intercom system.
3. I can have it connected to do both of the above at the same time.
4. A 308/616 has the proper voltage and frequency to ring my electro-mechanical ringers with at least the strength of REN 1.
5. I can pick up a 500 in my office and ring the electro-mechanical ringers of a wall phone in the kitchen by keying in the ext #.
6. I can run phone line through the house, outbuildings, patio, etc and just wire the middle two connectors (R&G) of any RJ-11s I use.
7. I will be amazed that this works so well that I'll wonder why anybody spends the money it takes to buy a TLS-4.

Do I have all of that right?

Thanks in advance.

Dave


« Last Edit: March 01, 2018, 07:45:55 PM by Dave »

Offline twocvbloke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4505
  • W.E. 500 DM
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2018, 08:10:19 PM »
1. Yep
2. Yep
3. Yep
4. Yep
5. Yep
6. Yep
7. Very much yep...  ;D

Offline Dave

  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2018, 08:50:51 PM »
Oh, wait, I thought of another one.

8.  I can as easily dial an extension with my rotary phones as I can key them in with a push button phone.

Yes?

Dave

Offline twocvbloke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4505
  • W.E. 500 DM
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2018, 10:21:02 PM »
Yep, on the north american Panasonics, it's 11 thru 18 or 26 (308/616) to dial other extensions (UK ones start at 21 thru 36), dial 9 for an outside line, or dial 81 thru 83 or 86 to choose a specific outside line... :)

Offline AE_Collector

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7504
  • AE 2 - AECo's 1st Self Contained Desk Phone 1925
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2018, 11:02:59 PM »
As for #6, I am always trying to do things once and be covered forever! Doesnít usually work but I keep trying.

I try to convince people running 2 Orr 4 pair runs to install double jacks on the end so you can also send the CO phone line to each location terminated on a jack. Why would you need that, you can dial 9 on any phone to get the CO line. So you can plug in an answering machine or a Call Display box at any location. Or plug in a more conventional telephone when someone is visiting who you canít be bothered to explain how it works yet again (parents).

http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?board=102.0

Terry

Offline Dave

  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2018, 01:37:39 AM »
Yep, on the north american Panasonics, it's 11 thru 18 or 26 (308/616) to dial other extensions (UK ones start at 21 thru 36), dial 9 for an outside line, or dial 81 thru 83 or 86 to choose a specific outside line... :)

There's something I didn't know. Am I to understand that the 616 only allows 9 extensions (11 - 18 & 26) out of 16 total extensions to call other extensions? Or am I misinterpreting what you wrote?

Offline Babybearjs

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2100
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2018, 01:46:08 AM »
 ;D ;D I've got a 207C 1A1 intercom with 9 active stations.... My roommate loves it.... always buzzing me in the front room to ask a question or something else.... will come in real handy when I get the workshop cleaned up and running again! good luck with yours!
John

Offline Owain

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 775
  • Consider Your Colour Scheme (M C James for GPO)
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2018, 05:00:31 AM »
There's something I didn't know. Am I to understand that the 616 only allows 9 extensions (11 - 18 & 26) out of 16 total extensions to call other extensions? Or am I misinterpreting what you wrote?

Yes, the 308 has 8 extensions 11-18, the 616 has 16 extensions 11-26

Offline twocvbloke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4505
  • W.E. 500 DM
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2018, 01:00:23 PM »
There's something I didn't know. Am I to understand that the 616 only allows 9 extensions (11 - 18 & 26) out of 16 total extensions to call other extensions? Or am I misinterpreting what you wrote?

Minor misinterpretation, 8 extensions for the 308, 16 for 616, so starts at 11, and ends on 18 or 26 for 308 or 616 respectively... :)

Offline Dave

  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2018, 03:06:27 PM »
Minor misinterpretation, 8 extensions for the 308, 16 for 616, so starts at 11, and ends on 18 or 26 for 308 or 616 respectively... :)

I understand now.

Something that's still not clear - these systems recognize pulse as well as tone?

Offline twocvbloke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4505
  • W.E. 500 DM
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2018, 03:08:46 PM »
these systems recognize pulse as well as tone?

Yep... :)

Offline Dave

  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2018, 09:41:28 PM »
Fabulous.

I don't have crystal balls, but I suspect there is a large plastic box with the Panasonic name on it in my future.

Offline twocvbloke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4505
  • W.E. 500 DM
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2018, 11:01:09 PM »
It's an inevitable purchase for most collectors, heck, I have both a 308 and 616, though the 308 was a mercy purchase as I wanted to save it from the bin... :)

Offline oldguy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2018, 12:04:29 AM »
I also have both the 308 & 616. Get the 616, the 308 has polarity issues with WE2500s.
Gary

Offline Dave

  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: 308 or 616 for inhouse intercom only
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2018, 09:44:24 AM »
That's good to know. I think I have one beige 2500.

I've been looking at this one. Anyone know this guy or dealt with him before?