Author Topic: Busy Signal Only  (Read 191 times)

Offline bitbucket

  • *
  • Posts: 24
Busy Signal Only
« on: May 23, 2020, 02:17:09 PM »
This lime green beauty is (I think) a 233g. It's only trick currently is to give a busy signal when taken off hook. Can anyone offer troubleshooting suggestions based on the attached photos?

Offline rcourtney

  • *
  • Posts: 50
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2020, 06:11:00 PM »
What is it connected to?
Do you have a volt/ohm meter?
My first thought is it does not disconnect and dialtone is timing out.

Offline Key2871

  • **
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 06:47:15 PM »
That was my thought as well, I thought I had a diagram for that decorator set, but I can't find it.
KEN

Offline Stan S

  • *
  • Posts: 376
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2020, 06:59:52 PM »
See attached

Offline Stan S

  • *
  • Posts: 376
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2020, 07:07:09 PM »
Maybe a little better.

Offline Key2871

  • **
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2020, 08:15:42 PM »
There it is, I knew someone must have it..
KEN

Offline bitbucket

  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2020, 09:02:58 PM »
Yes, I have a multimeter. Can you guide me to what I need to check?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: The phone is hooked up to a port on a digium tdm800p analog adapter card. I've tried connecting it to a known good port on the same card. The problem follows the phone.

Offline rcourtney

  • *
  • Posts: 50
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2020, 10:13:20 PM »
Does Stan's diagram come close to your phone's wiring?  Is the network in the coin box with a bell?   Lets disconnect the bell first.

Offline Stan S

  • *
  • Posts: 376
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2020, 11:40:16 PM »
Bitbucket 
Double check that you connected the phone line to the screw terminals R and Y on the hook switch/transfer contact assembly. From the pictures it doesn't seem like you did.
Stan S.

Offline Key2871

  • **
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2020, 10:05:03 AM »
Rc, the network is behind the metal shute made to direct coins to the vault.
There may be a gong in the vault area, but no network.

Yes it's important that the wiring is as in the diagram Stan provided, go from there and see if it works right, then from that trouble shooting can start.
KEN

Offline bitbucket

  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2020, 04:46:19 PM »
Well that turned out to be easy. I did, in fact, have the line terminated incorrectly. For reasons I can't explain, I'd connected the telephone line to T and TR instead of R and Y.

Offline Key2871

  • **
  • Posts: 2039
Re: Busy Signal Only
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2020, 04:48:22 PM »
Awsome, good catch glad it's working.
KEN