Author Topic: Me and my 302  (Read 6299 times)

Offline mmd

  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Me and my 302
« on: May 18, 2010, 07:41:17 PM »
New to this forum, and kinda new to old phones.  I got a Western Electric 500 that I got several months ago, restored it, looks new.

Now recently I got a model 302 that was already restored, and installed a touch tone module in it (Rotatone), so I can log into my voicemail system and actually manage my way through 1-800 numbers.

Here's pics of the 302.
[i mg width=700 height=468]ht tp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/oldphone302.jpg[/img]
[i mg width=700 height=468]ht tp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/phonedtmf.jpg[/img][/i mg]
[/s][/i]    ( dead externally linked imaged - image no longer on host site 11/10/17 )

And the 500 that I don't really use much right now (sitting waiting to be rewired since IT used to have the Rotatone and I haven't wired it back to normal yet).
[i mg width=700 height=467]ht tp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/Phone_on_Table_by_blackevilweredrag.jpg[/im g]
[i mg width=700 height=468]ht tp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/Old_Telephone_by_blackevilweredrago.jpg[/i mg]
    ( dead externally linked imaged - image no longer on host site 11/10/17 )

(These are when it had the rotatone in it, with my home-made jumper block, since mine didn't have one)
[i mg width=700 height=468]ht tp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/rotatone1.jpg[/i mg]
[i mg width=700 height=468]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/rotatone4.jpg[/i mg][/i mg]
[/i][/s]     ( dead externally linked imaged - image no longer on host site 11/10/17 )

I have also made some videos of these phones too.  Here's one of the 302 in action.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5IuwUg0bAM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOXpB0OlmB4

So what do you guys think?  I've gone through a lot to get these phones, for the 500 that meant traveling too, because it was in such a great shape inside.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2017, 01:03:01 PM by TelePlay »
Brandon
Western Electric 302, 500

Offline Dan/Panther

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5308
  • Kaw-Liga, I will NEVER forget you. 8/4/98--9/20/10
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 08:47:25 PM »
Welcome to our world.
What does the touch Tone module do in the 302 ?
D/P

The More People I meet, The More I Love, and MISS My Dog.  Dan Robinson

Offline mmd

  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2010, 08:59:56 PM »
Welcome to our world.
What does the touch Tone module do in the 302 ?
D/P
It lets every dial generate a touch tone sound instead of pulses.  It also gives me the ability to dial * and # by holding down 1 and 2 respectively at the finger stop until a beep is heard.  It even gives me 7 speed dial numbers, and last number redial (holding three until 1 beep).  The Rotatone is sold at Oldphoneworks.com, pretty cool stuff.

Anyways, I wouldn't have installed the device as I like keeping everything stock, but my voicemail requires dialing an asterisk, and requires touch tone sounds, it doesn't recognize the pulses (even though my phone service is rotary compatible).

Also, being my 302 wired stock, doesn't make the clicks of dialing on the receiver like my model 500 did, since the rotatone emulates it, my 302 has the cool sounding clicks now in the receiver, followed by the touch tone sound.
Brandon
Western Electric 302, 500

Offline AE_Collector

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7445
  • AE 2 - AECo's 1st Self Contained Desk Phone 1925
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2010, 10:35:24 PM »
Okay, I give up! Here's a "new" guy (mmd) with a total of 4 posts to the forum who has figured out how to put text between each picture in his postings and I still can't figure out how to do that!

No offence mmd! (Nice phones!)

Terry

Offline Jim S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3322
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2010, 10:42:15 PM »
Terry,
I have been here for (months) longer than you. I can't do it either.

Must be these smart-alec kids  ;D
JMO,
JIm
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

Offline mmd

  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2010, 10:45:09 PM »
LOL!  I put my images in with BB code, and have the pics actually on an external server..  for example, here's what code I used above..  I'm on several forums, been doing forums since 1999..

DO NOT USE EXTERNAL IMAGE LINK CODE AS SHOWN BELOW TO POST PICTURES TO THE FORUM

ALWAYS UPLOAD IMAGES AS AN ATTACHMENT TO THE REPLY/POST

EXTERNALLY LINKED IMAGES FAIL OVER TIME AND ARE LOST FOREVER TO THE FORUM!

Code: [Select]
Here's pics of the 302.
[img width=700 height=468]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/oldphone302.jpg[/img]
[img width=700 height=468]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/phonedtmf.jpg[/img]

And the 500 that I don't really use much right now (sitting waiting to be rewired since IT used to have the Rotatone and I haven't wired it back to normal yet).
[img width=700 height=467]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/Phone_on_Table_by_blackevilweredrag.jpg[/img]
[img width=700 height=468]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/Old_Telephone_by_blackevilweredrago.jpg[/img]

(These are when it had the rotatone in it, with my home-made jumper block, since mine didn't have one)
[img width=700 height=468]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/rotatone1.jpg[/img]
[img]http://[http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/rotatone2.jpg[/img]
[img width=700 height=468]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/Evilweredragon/rotatone4.jpg[/img]

I have also made some videos of these phones too.  Here's one of the 302 in action.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5IuwUg0bAM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOXpB0OlmB4

So what do you guys think?  I've gone through a lot to get these phones, for the 500 that meant traveling too, because it was in such a great shape inside.

PS, thanks about the photos.  I do photography on my spare time..  Lots..
« Last Edit: November 10, 2017, 12:58:52 PM by TelePlay »
Brandon
Western Electric 302, 500

Offline AE_Collector

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7445
  • AE 2 - AECo's 1st Self Contained Desk Phone 1925
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2010, 10:48:29 PM »
Oh, well why didn't you say so. Now I feel like an idiot (just pulling your chain).

I wish I had thought of that. BB's are the things you shoot out of a gun right? Just want to be sure when I ask at the computer store!

PS: I am told that I have a bit of an odd sense of humour so I just want to be sure that you realize that I am making fun of myself, NOT YOU!

Terry

« Last Edit: May 18, 2010, 10:50:47 PM by ae_collector »

Offline mmd

  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2010, 10:51:44 PM »
Though I'm only 23, I'm an old schooler when it comes to forums, lol

Anyways, I hope to make a home here.  I won't likely have many technical questions, since these phones are so rock solid, but I'm sure I'll come up with something to show off.
Brandon
Western Electric 302, 500

Offline Jim S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3322
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2010, 11:06:28 PM »
Oh, well why didn't you say so. Now I feel like an idiot (just pulling your chain).

I wish I had thought of that. BB's are the things you shoot out of a gun right? Just want to be sure when I ask at the computer store!

PS: I am told that I have a bit of an odd sense of humour so I just want to be sure that you realize that I am making fun of myself, NOT YOU!

Terry


For the record, BB's are .177 caliber.
Terry, I don't need to remind you that the young kids like to mess with old Farts.
I suspect he is baiting us for giggles. Darn kids, always showing off.
Jim
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

Offline McHeath

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2010, 11:08:16 PM »
Welcome mmd!  Great 302, it's in good shape, looks nice and original, but inside it's able to interface with the modern world.  For me one of the cool things about these old phones is that they are still so usable, you can't say that about a lot of past technologies.  I collect old computers as well, and they are pretty much limited to their time period, running their eras software and stuck in whatever year they were made.  Old phones are not like that, a phone made in 1940 can still make calls, and with the addition of the Rotatone do pretty much everything you need for standard phone service.  

Your 500 has an interesting cloth handset cord.  Was that on it when you got it?  I don't know if they made them that way, though I have heard that cloth line cords were installed on some.  Others here probably know more.  

Offline mmd

  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2010, 11:13:08 PM »
I suspect he is baiting us for giggles. Darn kids, always showing off.
Jim
Lol no, if that was the case, I wouldn't have spent $200 to buy my 302..  I'm dead serious.

Welcome mmd!  Great 302, it's in good shape, looks nice and original, but inside it's able to interface with the modern world.  For me one of the cool things about these old phones is that they are still so usable, you can't say that about a lot of past technologies.  I collect old computers as well, and they are pretty much limited to their time period, running their eras software and stuck in whatever year they were made.  Old phones are not like that, a phone made in 1940 can still make calls, and with the addition of the Rotatone do pretty much everything you need for standard phone service. 

Your 500 has an interesting cloth handset cord.  Was that on it when you got it?  I don't know if they made them that way, though I have heard that cloth line cords were installed on some.  Others here probably know more. 
The 500 did have the cords replaced, I did that, and I did retrofit it with cloth cords and not vinyl cords..  Just liked the look of it with the cloth cords.
Brandon
Western Electric 302, 500

Offline mmd

  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2010, 11:15:46 PM »
Don't mean to double post but I totally forgot!

This 302 is the metal version, not the thermoplastic model.  I made sure to get the metal version because it was an earlier model.
Brandon
Western Electric 302, 500

Offline AE_Collector

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7445
  • AE 2 - AECo's 1st Self Contained Desk Phone 1925
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2010, 11:18:51 PM »

For the record, BB's are .177 caliber.
Terry, I don't need to remind you that the young kids like to mess with old Farts.
I suspect he is baiting us for giggles. Darn kids, always showing off.
Jim

Oh thanks Jim. I'll write that down on my etch-a-sketch and take it with me tomorrow so that I am sure to get the right BB's.

Expect to see pictures from me with individual subtitles as soon as I'm back home tomorrow with the gun.

Terry
« Last Edit: May 18, 2010, 11:21:30 PM by ae_collector »

Offline McHeath

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2010, 11:23:43 PM »
Ah a metal 302, they weigh what, about 7 pounds?  Love that! 

Offline mmd

  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Me and my 302
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2010, 11:29:53 PM »
Ah a metal 302, they weigh what, about 7 pounds?  Love that! 
Heh, yea, it is quite heavy.  Shipping was expensive for it.
Brandon
Western Electric 302, 500