Author Topic: AE 90 low volume  (Read 1284 times)

Offline HarrySmith

  • ***
  • Posts: 5876
  • 1937 302
AE 90 low volume
« on: July 24, 2010, 02:12:11 PM »
I just finished building 2 AE 90 wall phones. One works great but the other has very low volume and a loud click when I touch the hook or dial. I made a map and wired them they way I found them before I took them apart. I also compared the two and they are not the same. In the working one the black & green wires from the handset go to terminal 23, the other has no 23, they are hooked to 3. Also the working one has 4 wires from the dial and the other only 3. I swapped elements and the wires to the element with no change. I have attached some pictures. Any advice will be appreciated :)
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Offline stub

  • **
  • Posts: 1568
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: AE 90 low volume
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2010, 11:09:10 PM »
HarrySmith,
                   It looks like someone used a network out of a AE 80. Look and see if the numbers on network are   WA-1120-A. If it is go to here and follow the diagram for that network . Looks like the white wire got left out on the dial.  Hope this helps.  Anyway , just identify the network and go from there .              stub

                             http://tinyurl.com/yg42tqf
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline stub

  • **
  • Posts: 1568
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: AE 90 low volume
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 12:31:43 AM »
Harry,
           I forgot to add this. If the network is a  WA-1120-A  and you have red,green,yellow line in wires, tie yellow and green line in wires together and the ringer will work. If yellow is not in line in wires place a jumper wire from network #6 to #9.  Hope this helps ,  I'll be out all day tomorrow till late night , I'll check back then..  stub
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 12:55:37 AM by stub1953 »
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline AE_Collector

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7526
  • AE 2 - AECo's 1st Self Contained Desk Phone 1925
Re: AE 90 low volume
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2010, 03:34:19 AM »
There is definitely a wire missing on the dial. Probably broke off where it was soldered on. A white wire I think. It probably belongs on one of the solder posts hiding under the red or blue lead in your picture.

80's and 90's use the same networks but could be either model that Stub mentioned.

Terry
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 12:56:34 PM by ae_collector »

Offline HarrySmith

  • ***
  • Posts: 5876
  • 1937 302
Re: AE 90 low volume
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2010, 09:06:51 AM »
You guys ROCK ;D
I did not think about the dial missing a wire as it functions fine, dialed a few calls to test it but when I inspect it closely under magnification I see a terminal with solder on it that must have had a wire attached. It is hiding under the yellow wire in my picture >:(
I have a spare dial I will put in to fix it and let you know :)
Thanks guys :D
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Offline HarrySmith

  • ***
  • Posts: 5876
  • 1937 302
Re: AE 90 low volume
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2010, 09:47:27 AM »
OK, fixed. I installed a dial I had Steve service for me a while ago and it works fine :)
I feel pretty stupid, I should have known since the others I am working on all have 4 wires to the dial there was one missing. I don't fully understand how these things work :(
How does the dial affect the volume of the handset ???
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Offline JorgeAmely

  • **
  • Posts: 2174
  • WE 500 from 1958
Re: AE 90 low volume
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2010, 11:39:31 AM »
Harry:

The dial either opens or short circuits the receiver when you dial so you don't hear loud popping noises as the dial returns to stop. Which action is depends on the manufacturer. I know for sure WE500s shorts the receiver.
 
Jorge