Author Topic: Automatic Electric payphone problem.  (Read 2364 times)

Offline Dan/Panther

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5326
  • Kaw-Liga, I will NEVER forget you. 8/4/98--9/20/10
Automatic Electric payphone problem.
« on: January 30, 2009, 10:46:36 PM »
Awhile back I bought an AE Payphone, but it didn't have the original handset.
Recently I bought a lot of AE parts, and The handset I needed was in the lot.
So I pulled the cover off of the phone, and I have a problem.
The AE phone has the handset wired like a WE handset, 2 white wires and a Red, and a Black. The AE handset is 3 wire Green, Yellow, and Red.
How do I connect the handset to the 4 wire configuration.

D/P

The More People I meet, The More I Love, and MISS My Dog.  Dan Robinson

Offline TIPandRING

  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: Automatic Electric payphone problem.
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 12:39:30 PM »
Awhile back I bought an AE Payphone, but it didn't have the original handset.
Recently I bought a lot of AE parts, and The handset I needed was in the lot.
So I pulled the cover off of the phone, and I have a problem.
The AE phone has the handset wired like a WE handset, 2 white wires and a Red, and a Black. The AE handset is 3 wire Green, Yellow, and Red.
How do I connect the handset to the 4 wire configuration.

D/P

Me confused... ???

All Automatic Electrics used 4 wire handset connections (except for the really old phones, like AE 40's etc.).


WE=RED and BLACK for Xmitter   WHITE and WHITE=recver

AE=RED and GREEN for xmitter   BLACK and YELLOW=recvr

Offline Steve

  • ****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Automatic Electric payphone problem.
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2009, 12:43:12 PM »

 are you sure it's a handset cord? sounds like a line cord.
If you're a long way from home,
Can't sleep at night.
Grab your telephone,
Something just ain't right.

Offline BDM

  • 313-TUxedo 6-4281
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1316
Re: Automatic Electric payphone problem.
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2009, 12:45:05 PM »
Dan, the later AE handsets are 4 wire, at least the ones I have are. Which type of handset is this?

--Brian--

St Clair Shores, MI

Offline Dan/Panther

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5326
  • Kaw-Liga, I will NEVER forget you. 8/4/98--9/20/10
Re: Automatic Electric payphone problem.
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2009, 05:38:30 PM »
I don't know what I have, but it is an exact replacement for the one I need for my phone.
D/P

The way it's wired is the green wire goes to the center post of both the transmitter and receivers, the yellow wire goes to the outer ring on the receiver, and the red wire goes to the outer ring of the transmitter, NO black wire.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2009, 05:49:40 PM by Dan/Panther »

The More People I meet, The More I Love, and MISS My Dog.  Dan Robinson

Offline BDM

  • 313-TUxedo 6-4281
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1316
Re: Automatic Electric payphone problem.
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2009, 07:47:23 PM »
Dan, I've goofed again. Today seems to be the day I should have stayed in bed. I can't add 2+2 I swear!! Anyhow, mine are also 3 wire handsets. My Stromberg-Carlson handsets are 4 wire. Have you gone over the wiring diagrams?

http://www.telephonecollectors.org/library/aeco/aeco.htm

--Brian--

St Clair Shores, MI

Offline Dan/Panther

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5326
  • Kaw-Liga, I will NEVER forget you. 8/4/98--9/20/10
Re: Automatic Electric payphone problem.
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2009, 08:49:53 PM »
It shows up first on the N-802, then reverts back to 4 conductor cord with the AE87-A.
So I guess this is not the original handset for my payphone, just one  someone used for my payphone. The one I want to use is bakelite, whereas the one on the phone is Plastic, so I think I'll just exchange the cord until I can get the proper handset.
D/P
Thanks for the link.

The More People I meet, The More I Love, and MISS My Dog.  Dan Robinson