Author Topic: My 5302 needs help!!!  (Read 995 times)

Offline kwatter04

  • *
  • Posts: 26
My 5302 needs help!!!
« on: January 14, 2012, 05:07:04 PM »
    So I think that my phone addiction is worsening.  I now want to take the next step and fix the only phone in my collection (which now stands at 22 phones  :o) that doesn't work. It is a junker 5302 that I picked up for like $10 on eBay.  It gets a dial tone right when plugged in, but the phone acts like the hookswitch doesn't exist, in other words, you cannot break the dial tone at all, either with the dial or the hookswitch.  when the dial is rotating, the dial tone cuts out, then comes back when the dial returns to rest. 
       In an effort to troubleshoot it myself, I took it apart and also took my 1941 302 apart and compared the 2 to try and see what the problem is.  I found that my 5302 is wired vastly different than the 302.  The hookswitch itself appears to be making contact, which leads me to believe that there is a wiring problem (the 302 only has 3 wires running to the handset, while the 5302 has 4, so an apples-to-apples comparison is difficult for my [relatively] untrained eye, also, it's much harder to see how the 302 is wired because the wires are run all bunched together. the 5302 is a mess inside, with wires running everywhere).  I've included a picture of the 5302's network below....any ideas?  I really want to get this phone working!!!

Offline paul-f

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3011
    • Old Telephones as Entertainment!
Re: My 5302 needs help!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 06:04:32 PM »
A good place to start is checking to make sure the wiring matches a wiring diagram for the 5302.

You can find diagrams in the TCI Library (www.telephonecollectors.info).  Search for 5302.

Diagrams usually show the F handset, which brings a common wire out that goes to both the receiver and transmitter.  (The transmitter and receiver are electrically joined inside the handset.)

The G handsets use a 4-wire cord that has separate wires for the transmitter and receiver.  Simply put one wire from the receiver and transmitter to the same terminal in the set, and it looks electrically like the F handset.
Visit: paul-f.com         WE 500  Design_Line

.

Offline kwatter04

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: My 5302 needs help!!!
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2012, 02:33:51 AM »
I would be correct in assuming that my 302 and my 5302 should be wired identically, right?

Offline kwatter04

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: My 5302 needs help!!!
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2012, 08:13:55 AM »
got it (sort of). It was apparently just badly mis-wired.  I moved 6 or 7 wires around  (mostly on the induction coil), using the diagram and my 302 as a guide, and now the phone works, it just does not ring. I am certain that the ringer is wired correctly, maybe its fried? oh well, at least its a step in the right direction. I can't believe it was even getting a dial tone with the way it was wired.

Offline Phonesrfun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4867
  • "Number Please"
Re: My 5302 needs help!!!
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2012, 04:55:40 PM »
How are the ringer and the two leads from the capacitor that are the ringer capacitor currently wired?  The ringing leads from the capacitor are the slate and yellow leads.

-Bill G