Author Topic: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone  (Read 19738 times)

Offline handworn

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #45 on: July 28, 2012, 11:06:50 AM »
Hey all,

It turns out I was wrong-- I have 5 hookswitch wires, not 4.

How do I tell what number hookswitch I have?  I don't remember seeing a label on it.

I attached a piece of wire as a replacement terminal link, but it didn't solve the problem completely.  I still only have dial tone when turning the dial slightly, which makes me think there's a connection there that's made only when dialing which should be connected constantly.  Calling in works, but again only when the dial is turned slightly.  That is, I call, it rings, I pick up the handset and hear nothing, I turn the dial and hold it turned and instantly I hear the connection to my cellphone, which again goes dead when I let the dial go back (though the call is still active).  Is there something to adjust in the dial?

Offline HarrySmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4306
  • 1956 Rose Beige 500
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #46 on: July 28, 2012, 02:19:25 PM »
Sounds like the contacts on the back of the dial are not working properly or it is not connected to the hookswitych properly. Can you get a clear closeup picture of the contacts both in park position and with the dial moved?
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Offline stub

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #47 on: July 28, 2012, 05:05:34 PM »
Handworn,
                The pic of your dial looks ok. The fact that you hear when you turn the dial indicates it is working now.  Take a small piece of paper and clean the contacts with just the paper. Pull it thru the contacts like in the pic. If this doesn't work you will have to bend the 1st contact (far left in pic) to the right putting more pressure on the 2nd contact . (To enlarge pic, left click in pic)  Don't bend it too much as the 1st contact will need to open and close as the cam rotates when number is dialed.
                That was very nice of Terry to send you a subset up front !    stub
                
« Last Edit: July 29, 2012, 01:42:31 AM by stub »
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline handworn

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #48 on: August 01, 2012, 10:58:43 AM »
About Terry's generosity, I completely agree, stub, especially since I haven't been a member here very long.  I'll be sending him payment for the subset soon.

Offline handworn

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #49 on: August 01, 2012, 10:59:22 AM »
Oh, and by the way, stub, thanks for your advice too!  I'll try that.

Offline handworn

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #50 on: August 01, 2012, 11:22:42 AM »
Stub,

Putting a piece of paper through there did clean it some-- there was schmutz on the paper every time-- but it didn't solve the problem.  Would pulling the paper trick with fine-grit sandpaper be better?  And though I could bend the first contact (I haven't yet), it seems to contact the second pretty well already.  Can you explain theoretically what is supposed to happen here?

Thanks,

Matt

Offline poplar1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5592
  • 102C-6 = "Old Brass" Hand Telephone Set
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #51 on: August 01, 2012, 01:26:12 PM »
You could also connect the two wires that are on the left (looking at the back of the dial) together temporarily just to see if you have dial tone; the contacts they connect to should have continuity except when they open up for the number of times corresponding to the number dialed. If you don't have dial tone with the wires touching, then cleaning the contacts won't solve the problem.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Offline stub

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #52 on: August 01, 2012, 01:38:54 PM »
handworn,
                Connect the 2 contacts with a jumper wire like David said. You may still have a hookswitch wire miss placed yet. When you pick up the handset you should have dial tone with the jumper wire on those 2 contacts. When the dial is at rest or park the 1st contact is parked away from the cam. When you turn the dial just alittle it will drop down to the cam and when released it will pluse up and down as the cam moves it .  Check your PMs.  stub
« Last Edit: August 01, 2012, 01:51:06 PM by stub »
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline stub

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #53 on: August 03, 2012, 01:11:03 AM »
Matt,
         Verify that the hookswitch wires are correct . Starting at the top of my 5 contact hookswitch as # 1 and work down .   Top  1st contact goes to phone base # 8
                                           2nd "                                     " # 2
                                           3rd "                                      " # 1
                                           4th "                                      " # 3
                                           5th "                                      " # 7
 In reply # 43, is the last contact on the right side of the dial at rest or park, OPEN like mine? That's what Harrysmith, Larry was talking about the receiver being shunted when it's not supposed to be. If wires are wrong it could be completing the circuit as your slightly turn the dial and the shunt springs could be suppling power to the receiver instead of shorting out the handset during dialing.
                                                        Your closer, don't give up, we will get it .      stub
« Last Edit: August 03, 2012, 01:43:38 AM by stub »
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline handworn

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #54 on: August 03, 2012, 11:36:17 AM »
Hi Stub,

I was pretty careful about which wires go where on the switch, making them conform to the diagram.  I'll try again if need be.  Anyway, I just tried the connect-the-two-contacts-with-a-wire thing, while holding the handset to my ear, and nothing happened.  What did happen (I have no idea if it was caused by connecting the contacts) was that the line started giving me that razzing, repeating sound that happens if the switch is open too long-- if the handset is off the cradle too long-- and I could actually hear it oh-so-faintly even with the dial in at-rest position.  (When I turned the dial slightly, of course, it jumped up to full volume.)

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Matt

Offline stub

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #55 on: August 03, 2012, 11:40:54 AM »
Matt,
        When you jumped the 2 contacts on the dial you should have gotten dial tone. There has to be a wire in the wrong place somewhere. Did you check your messages?    stub
« Last Edit: August 03, 2012, 11:56:08 AM by stub »
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline stub

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #56 on: August 03, 2012, 11:43:56 AM »
Matt,
        Try swapping the red and the orange handset wires  orange 7  and red 8   and see if handset volume and dial tone are there. I couldn't tell the colors apart from here.   stub
« Last Edit: August 03, 2012, 11:54:26 AM by stub »
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline handworn

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #57 on: August 03, 2012, 04:43:52 PM »
Do you mean swapping the wire that goes from the handset to 7 swapped with the wire that goes from the handset to 8?


Matt,
        Try swapping the red and the orange handset wires  orange 7  and red 8   and see if handset volume and dial tone are there. I couldn't tell the colors apart from here.   stub

Offline stub

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
  • AE Type 14 A
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #58 on: August 03, 2012, 11:06:06 PM »
Matt,
          Yes.  stub
Kenneth Stubblefield        
  CRPF
   TCI

Offline handworn

  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Compact AE32 Subset wiring for Automatic Electric 1A Telephone
« Reply #59 on: August 04, 2012, 12:40:16 PM »
It didn't fix it; there was no dialtone at all in that case, even with the dial turned a little.  I would think it wouldn't be anything to do with the connection to the handset, if turning the dial makes the connection properly.