News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

My collection

Started by shadow67, January 20, 2017, 08:39:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shadow67

Hello and thank you for admitting me to the group. I have been collecting telephones for a few years and one of the most interesting is my wooden wall phone made by Sumter Telephone in South Carolina, where I live. I have not been able to find much information on these phones on the internet. I picked it up about 15 years ago for about $75 I think at a flea market. It languished in a closet for years until I decided to hang it in our storage shed and tried to see if it would work. I found a couple broken wires and used some alligator clips to bypass the breaks and used a wall wart to give it power. I have another W.E. candlestick magneto set that I hung upstairs and ran wires between the two. Amazingly they worked! My 10 and 7 year olds love to crank the phones and talk to each other. Does anyone have any info on this phone or the possible age or value? Thanks

I will add other pics of my small collection.

shadow67

more photos

shadow67

more pics

AL_as_needed

Love the MIdway9 dial card, I think that style of card really takes the 302 to the next level.

Also, how do you mount your payphones? Just bolted to a back board? I dont own one yet but planning ahead.
TWinbrook7

oldguy

Nice collection, shadow67.
Gary

shadow67

The single slot pay phone I had a mounting plate for that I mounted to a board. The 3 slot pay phone came with a wire attached to the top of the mounting plate so it is just hung on a large bolt.

shadow67