News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

andre_janew's telephone collection

Started by andre_janew, January 22, 2015, 07:42:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

andre_janew

I admit it!  I'm new to phone collecting and don't know what I am doing at least half the time.  Sure, I can buy an old phone for very little money.  However, I have no idea how much of it is original and how much is not.  I will later post some pictures of a black 1954 WE 500 phone I have just purchased and let the experts decide how much of it is original.

WEBellSystemChristian

Are you talking about this one?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/331450131295

To me, it looks all-original, except for the G6 handset and later tapered handset cord, both from the '70s.
You could replace the cord with a Bakelite version, which are surprisingly easy to find, and are pretty cheap, too.
Christian Petterson

"Whether you think you can or think you can't, you're right" -Henry Ford

WesternElectricBen

Phones pre (sometime in) 1959 should be soft plastic. The handset (+ generally the rest of the phone) can easily be determined by having no holes in the center. If it does, like this phone, it is hard plastic.

Still a nice phone, that will clean up nicely.

Ben

Kenton K

I just buy phones that have keep value. It's not worth buying and selling most basic phones online, because of shipping costs. My strategy: If I can sell it for the same cost I bought it (taking shipping into account), then I buy it.

Greg G.

Quote from: andre_janew on January 22, 2015, 07:42:01 PM