News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Candlestick shell

Started by heifetz17, January 15, 2020, 06:14:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

heifetz17

Hey guys, I'm just getting started with my collection and this is the very first phone I bought many years ago. It's just a shell and I'd like to restore it but I know nothing about it. I'm wondering if it's a reproduction, but I'm unsure. There are no stamps or markings of any kind on the outside. Can anyone lend some info?

Jim Stettler

Properly restore, or make into a working set?
I suggest creating a simple working set and then work on making it  proper and accurate as you acquire the parts.
JMO,
Jim
A simple working set would be transmitter, receiver and hook-switch connected to a network or subset. You could convert parts from a 300 or 500 set to make this happen.
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

LarryInMichigan

That looks to be an Automatic Electric type 21 desk stand.  The parts I can see look like the real thing to me.

Larry

Jim Stettler

Quote from: LarryInMichigan on January 15, 2020, 06:39:35 PM
That looks to be an Automatic Electric type 21 desk stand.  The parts I can see look like the real thing to me.

Larry
In that case , I would try AE 80 Parts.
JMO,
Jim
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

Key2871

Yea the diagram on the base plate says mono phone, and has an L and some numbers. So that tells me it's AE.
KEN

Jack Ryan

Hi,

You have an Automatic Electric Type 21 desk stand. Ignore the circuit on the base as it, and probably the base itself, is from a Monophone (a handset telephone).

You will need to disassemble it and inspect the hook switch to determine if it is intended for series or booster circuit. That will tell you what sort of subset (bell box) is needed.